What is Horoscope? Here’s a Comprehensive Overview

A horoscope is an astrological chart, which is forecasts the entire life events of an individual, calculated based on his date, time and place of birth. The chart represents the positioning of the Sun, Moon, planets and various other astrological aspects present at the time of a person’s birth. The word Horoscope has its origination from two Latin words – “Horo” which means an hour and “Scope” which means view. So, Horoscope is nothing but the “view of the hour”.  The horoscope consists of the governing planets, signs, houses, aspects and other points that reflect potential characteristics of a person and patterns of situations that may occur in his lifespan. It is up to our interpretation & discretion on how we choose to work with these patterns or reconstruct them to be expressed in other ways. Hence, it is a Myth that Horoscopes define our destiny. It only provides us with the insight and awareness about various potentials and situations and it is up to us how we leverage it.


When the astrological chart is prepared, it begins with a framework of 12 houses; each of it representing an arena of experience and the planets associated with the energy expressed at that experience. The first house begins at the ascendant on the Eastern Horizon and the remaining 11 houses are numbered counterclockwise. The positions of these houses remain fixed; however, the signs and planets all move through the twelve houses. The Zodiac signs are then superimposed on these houses.

What is the Zodiac?

The Latin term Zodiac translates to ‘zoo of animals’. This belt is one of the great circles of our astronomical heavenly vault. It is the path that our Sun takes (also called the ecliptic) in our galaxy that is dotted with 12 constellations, one for each of the signs of the Zodiac. Many of these constellations are animals, like the Crab, the Ram, the Lion and the Archer, while a few are people such as the Gemini twins, and Virgo the virgin.

What is an Element?

The twelve zodiac signs are further grouped into four elements—fire, earth, air and water, which are concepts derived from the age-old Western and Indian astrology. Each of these elementary groups has distinct traits. The four classical elements are used by most of the astrologers extensively, and indeed it is viewed as an integral part of interpreting the astrological chart. Each element demonstrates a distinct personality type depicting its component element and you would at least a couple of distinct traits (if not all) in each of the zodiac signs. Let’s look at each element and what are the personality types it depicts:

Fire Element: Aries, Leo, and Sagittarius:

The fire element is passionate, energetic and often temperamental as well. While fire can provide warmth, it can also burn everything around it. Similarly, while these folks are enthusiastic, vibrant and full of energy, however, their anger could be triggered anytime on the smallest of things and they could be equally destructive.

Earth Element: Taurus, Virgo, and Capricorn

People with the Earth element are generally “grounded” people, the ones who bring us down to earth and remind us to start with a solid foundation. They believe in the philosophy “Slow and Steady wins the race”. They have a very Steady and stable approach towards everything be it life, work, love or relationships. They are also very loyal and trustworthy people. Of all the zodiac signs, the earth element people are the real builders or planners and have an eye for detail for everything they do. However, this detail-oriented nature can also become impulsive at times and can cause a lot of irritation to people around them.

Air Element: Gemini, Libra, and Aquarius

Air Sign is all about ideas, action, and constant movement.  They are the power bank of ideas and always in motion. Thinking “Out of the box” comes to them naturally and you’ll always find them expanding horizons. The Air sign is known for its deep intellect and communication skills because they are always in the learning spree and gaining knowledge.

Water Element: Cancer, Scorpio, and Pisces

Water signs are extremely mysterious people and by nature, they are Intuitive, emotional and ultra-sensitive. These signs generally have ambitious dreams to make it big in life and they have a major psychic intuition. Just like water needs a container to gain its shape and volume; Water signs need security – it is of utmost importance to them. They are also very emotional and compassionate.

What is a Ruling Planet?

A Ruling Planet is a planet, which is held to have a particular influence over a specific sign of the zodiac, house or aspect of life. Each zodiac sign has a “ruling planet” that governs it and infuses it with certain personality traits. Knowing about the ruling planet of your zodiac sign can help you develop a deeper understanding of your sign. Simply put, if the Zodiac signs have personality traits, the Ruling planet governs how you act in a particular situation irrespective of your personality type. It means that the Ruling Planet, and all its energies, are in charge of the situation and is the primary influence.

Ruling Planets of Zodiac Signs

Every Zodiac sign has a ruling planet (it could either be one or two), and this adds a dimension that builds on what’s known about its qualities.

  • Aries’ ruler is Mars.
  • Taurus’ rulers are Venus (ancient) and Ceres
  • Gemini’s ruler is Mercury.
  • Cancer’s ruler is the Moon.
  • Leo’s ruler is the Sun
  • Virgo’s rulers are Mercury (ancient)
  • Libra’s ruler is Venus.
  • Scorpio’s rulers are Mars (ancient) and Pluto
  • Sagittarius’ ruler is Jupiter.
  • Capricorn’s ruler is Saturn.
  • Aquarius’ rulers are Saturn (ancient) and Uranus (modern).
  • Pisces’ rulers are Jupiter (ancient) and Neptune (modern).

As the planets circle around and move through the signs of the zodiac, everyone is affected by their locations.

There are a lot of things one can talk about when it comes to Horoscopes and its relation to human behavior. In the subsequent further articles, we would see how each Zodiac sign is different from each other with respect to its associated Element, Ruling Planet and Qualities