Factfulness: Ten Reasons We’re Wrong About the World

Factfulness: Ten Reasons We're Wrong About the World--and Why Things Are Better Than You Think

Factfulness: Ten Reasons We’re Wrong About the World–and Why Things Are Better Than You Think

My review of the book is below the basic description

Publisher: Recorded Books

Date: April 2018

Duration: 8 hours 52 minutes

Summary:

For fans of Freakonomics and Thinking, Fast and Slow, here is a book by Hans Rosling, the scientist called ‘a true inspiration’ by Bill Gates, that teaches us how to see the world as it truly is. Factfulness: The stress-reducing habit of only carrying opinions for which you have strong supporting facts. When asked simple questions about global trends-what percentage of the world’s population live in poverty; why the world’s population is increasing; how many girls finish school-we…Read More about Factfulness: Ten Reasons We’re Wrong About the World–and Why Things Are Better Than You Think

LISTEN HERE

–SunWisher Review–

Overall great book. However it’s interesting to note just how even he got things wrong in counting the numbers and judging between false information. BUT, I went ahead and went through this and his ways of seeing the world and how to become more flexible with your beliefs is a great thing to work on.

And this is a great book to actually help combat a lot of fake news garbage for those who want to be proactive. For example, if you like Pres. Trump or not, many times those who think they hate him can not really stand on one leg and explain exact things he did that they hate. This is brought to you about outraged talking heads on TV. People including myself are going to always have some sort of varying degree of mob mentality.

We’ll walk with those in our tribe and the places we tread and fight for beliefs that are hardly even solidified overall. End result of the book, I can see and agree that the world overall is becoming a safer and better place, but where I started, this is where I see the facts a tad different. This guy leans liberal several different senses and believes highly in a trimmed human race. He lacks the foresight to see that the vaccinations he applause’s and what the smaller family sizes mixed with the rising debauchery of more of the human race reaching for gay and lesbian type attitudes. Thusly cutting a lot of the birth rates further. Many places on Earth are will eventually be dead cities, towns etc.

So beyond this, I highly recommend the book because I believe he was unaware of other specific data points. BUT to his defense he mentions this in different ways and explains to remain open and willing to change with new facts that you can base off the norm. It’s great for critical thinking.

LISTEN HERE

Related Posts
No related posts for this content
Click here to add a comment

Leave a comment: